Arnold Naimark, M.D.

Arnold Naimark, M.D.


Dr. Arnold Naimark, O.C., O.M., M.D., L.L.D., F.R.C.P.(C), F.R.S.C, FCAHS,. has had a distinguished career in biomedical research, medicine and higher education. He is President Emeritus and Dean of Medicine Emeritus and Professor of Medicine and Physiology at the University of Manitoba. He is currently Director of the Centre for the Advancement of Medicine, Chair of Genome Prairie and Chair of CancerCare Manitoba. Dr. Naimark serves on the Research Council of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, the National Statistics Council of Canada and is Vice-Chair of the Statistics Canada Audit Committee.

He was formerly: Chair of Health Canada's Ministerial Science Advisory Board , Member of the International Advisory Committee on Research of the Alberta Cancer Board, Research Institute, Vice-Chair of the Manitoba Health Research Council and Director of the Robarts Research Institute. He is the founding Chairman of the North Portage Development Corporation, the Canadian Health Services Research Foundation and the Canadian Biotechnology Advisory Committee. He has served as President of several academic bodies including, the Canadian Physiological Society, the Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of Canadian Medical Colleges, the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada and as Chairman of the Association of Commonwealth Universities. Dr. Naimark is an Officer of the Order of Canada, a Member of the Order of Manitoba and a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, the Royal Society of Canada, and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

He is recipient of the G. Malcolm Brown Award of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons and Medical Research Council of Canada, the Osler Award, the Distinguished Service Award of Ben Gurion University, the Symons Awardof the Association of Commonwealth Universities; and of honorary doctorates from Mount Allison University and the University of Toronto, and of several other awards and distinctions related to his professional, academic and civic activities.

Unite Interactive